Experience the Iron Curtain while cycling

Iron Curtain Trail

Iron Curtain – the iron curtain. A barrier that divided all of Europe in two from north to south for decades. Hindered exchange between countries and people. Fortunately, these times are over and we all live in a common Europe in which we can move freely. What remains are relics that symbolically show us our shared history. Making understandable what once was and reminding us how wonderful it is to be able to move freely. What could be more obvious than to establish a thousands-kilometer-long cycle path along this curtain – the EuroVelo13 “Iron Curtain Trail”? As a symbol of regained freedom, so to speak?

Offer

EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail, Czech Republic/Slovakia/Austria
Guided cycle tour along the Iron Curtain to Bratislava

Duration: 8 days
Date: June 8th – 15th, 2024
Price: € 538,-

 

Key facts

Character: Guided bike tour along the Iron Curtain to Bratislava

Country: Czech Republic, Austria & Slovakia

Claim: ●●○○

Contribution: Further development of the Iron Curtain Trail as a symbol of freedom in Europe

Included services: among others: Guided tour by a German-speaking guide, overnight stay in hotels or guesthouses with half board, daily additional programs

 

Experience the Iron Curtain while cycling

1. The journey

Character of the journey

The Iron Curtain Trail is far more than just symbolic, but also leads through beautiful landscapes. Landscapes that were extremely natural due to the decades-long proximity to the Iron Curtain and are therefore now home to many biosphere reserves, nature parks and national parks – such as the Thayatal National Park along the Thaya between the Czech Republic and Austria.

©  Weinviertel Tourismus
The Iron Curtain Trail Explorer Tour 2024 offers carefree cycling along the former Iron Curtain of the Austrian-Czech-Slovakian border.

The Thayatal National Park is also one of the highlights that you can experience on our eight-day Explorer Tour from June 8th to 15th, 2024. We chose exactly the area of the thousands of kilometer long EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail, which is also home to this national park. You complete 6 stages of the EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail from Slavonice near Gmünd via Drosendorf town, Znojmo and Valtice to Bratislava, always along the Czech-Austrian or Slovakian-Austrian border. The stages are 45 to 70 km long, with an additional program being offered on 5 of the 6 stages. Everything is included, from a castle tour to a guided tour through the Thayatal National Park to accompaniment by an “Iron Curtain” expert. But you also drive through vineyards on both sides of the Czech-Austrian border, past windmills and old towns like Znojmo, you can stop off in cellar alleys and celebrate on the last evening in Bratislava – the capital of Slovakia. In short: an extremely varied program is waiting for you!

© Waldviertel Tourismus
You will experience highlights galore Abundance – both scenic gems like here in the Thayatal National Park…

The EuroVelo 13 – Iron Curtain Trail is managed by the ECF, the European Cyclists’ Federation. This is also part of a European initiative that is intended to further develop the EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail together with many experts. This Explorer Tour is part of the initiative to test the EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail as a guided cycling tour. This cycling tour is led by one of the most experienced guides when it comes to the EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail: Daniel Mourek. He speaks fluent Czech, German and English and is also one of the experts in the Iron Curtain Trail initiative. External guides are always brought in for the additional programs in order to be able to offer you a maximum of interesting stories.

©  Tourist Info Znojmo
…as well as cultural/historical features such as the old town of Znojmo.

The aim of the initiative is also to offer cycling tours on the EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail as climate-friendly as possible. In a first step, the train journey should be encouraged, which is why there is no shared return transport due to the good rail connection – as well as luggage transport, because this is actually a dispensable luxury on cycle trips without major differences in altitude. Because the countless beautiful experiences that you will have on this cycling trip weigh nothing but actually inspire you while cycling!

THE ITINERARY

Day 01 | 06/08/2024 |
Arrival: Independent arrival to Slavonice (CZ; meeting point at 5 p.m. in the Bejčkův Mlýn guesthouse – the booking center will help you plan your arrival)

Day 02 | 06/09/2024 |
ICT stage Slavonice – Vranov nad Dyjí; guided tour Renaissance Uherčice Castle; Accommodation: Pension (CZ)
Total time: 7 h → 72 km ↗ 640 m ↘ 795 m

Day 03 | June 10, 2024 |
ICT stage Vranov nad Dyjí – Znojmo; guided bike tour Podyjí/Thayatal National Park; Accommodation: Pension (CZ)
Total time: 7 h → 55 km ↗ 494 m ↘ 537 m

Day 04 | June 11, 2024 |
ICT stage Znojmo – Laa an der Thaya/Hevlín; guided tour of the Retz windmill; Accommodation: Pension (CZ)
Total time: 7 h → 68 km ↗ 399 m ↘ 494 m

Day 05 | June 12, 2024 |
ICT stage Laa an der Thaya/Hevlín – Valtice; guided tour Lu Tiree Herb Garden Valtice; Accommodation: Hotel (CZ)
Total time: 6 h → 45 km ↗ 315 m ↘ 313 m

Day 06 | June 13, 2024 |
ICT stage Valtice – Malacky; Accommodation: Guesthouse (SK)
Total time: 5 h → 57 km ↗ 399 m ↘ 494 m

Day 07 | June 14, 2024 |
ICT stage Malacky – Bratislava; cycling with an Iron Curtain Trail Expert; Accommodation: Hotel (SK)
Total time: 6 h → 67 km ↗ 83 m ↘ 91 m

Day 08 | June 15, 2024 |
Individual departure after breakfast
Optionally, a city tour can be organized for an additional charge

INCLUDED SERVICES

  • 7 nights in selected mid-range hotels (*** national categorization) or authentic family-run guesthouses; Double room with half board
  • Guided tour by an experienced local German-speaking guide with extensive knowledge of the history and culture of the countries (also an expert in the Iron Curtain Trail initiative)
  • Additional program on 5 of the 6 stages (see “Itinerary”)
  • Contribution to the further development of the Iron Curtain Trail as a symbol of freedom in Europe
  • Detailed tour documents
  • Before the trip: Information service from Iron Curtain Trail experts

Price: € 538,- p. P

Min./max group size: 6-10 pax

Our experts on the Iron Cutain Trail

2. The pioneers

Get to know our pioneers on the Iron Curtain Trail who will accompany you on your Explorer Tour on the Iron Curtain Trail or are involved in the development of this Explorer Tour in particular and the EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail in general:

Iron Curtain Trail Initiative
Developer of the Iron Curtain Trail

The EuroVelo 13 – Iron Curtain Trail is almost 10,000 kilometers long in total and leads through 20 countries. The cycle path is managed under the aegis of the European Cyclists’ Federation (ECF) and is anchored in the network of Eurovelo cycle paths

. However, it is obvious that it takes a lot of effort to coordinate such a route and so many different actors involved. That’s why a new initiative was launched in 2023 to further develop the EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail and the regions around the cycle path and make them more attractive, especially for cyclists. Because in the end, that’s what matters: that cyclists like you can have a good time on the Iron Curtain Trail. A special focus is also placed on making a trip on the EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail more climate-friendly – because that’s what cycling per se is.
+

EuroVelo
European Cycle Route Network

EuroVelo is a network of 17 long-distance cycle routes that cross and connect Europe. The name EuroVelo stands for quality: EuroVelo is a registered trademark of the European Cycling Federation (ECF),

and only routes approved by the ECF may be called EuroVelo routes. This is an important sign of quality, both for cyclists and for route operators. The good thing about it: The Iron Curtain Trail is one of the 17 EuroVelo long-distance cycle paths and is also known as EuroVelo 13.

The main objectives of EuroVelo are:

  • The creation of very high quality cycle routes in all European countries! The states should learn from each other and standardize standards.
  • The dissemination of information about the existence of these routes to decision-makers and potential users. EuroVelo makes the routes known, contributes to their marketing and offers an important contact point for information about cycling in Europe.
  • This aims to encourage a large number of European citizens to cycle more and thus switch to healthy and sustainable travel, both for day trips and for cycle tourism purposes.

EuroVelo’s extensive experience in international projects, together with the breadth of the network, is a guarantee that such an ambitious goal as the Iron Curtain Trail is being developed in the right direction and has a great future ahead of it.

+

Ján Roháč
Iron Curtain Trail expert (SK)

Ján Roháč, 59, has been actively involved in cycle tourism for almost 25 years. He worked as a cycling guide and tour operator in Central Europe and is now a project manager with a focus on cycling infrastructure.

In addition, he works as a consultant for public administrations and private companies and is committed to bicycle tourism and transport. Ján is committed to monitoring and supporting cycle tourists and is also the head of the Cyclist Welcome certification program in Slovakia. Over the last two decades he has dedicated himself to the EuroVelo 13 Iron Curtain Trail project, demonstrating his commitment to the development and promotion of cycle paths and experiences.

+

Daniel Mourek
Guide and Iron Curtain Trail expert (CZ)

Daniel (57) has more than 20 years of experience in developing sustainable tourism projects, mainly in the areas of cycle tourism, soft mobility and ecological services

in tourism in Central and Eastern Europe. He is a former vice-president of the European Cyclist’s Federation ECF and a member of the EuroVelo Council and a member of the steering committee of the European Greenways Association. Daniel was also coordinator of the Czech part of the Elbe cycle path and EuroVelo coordinator for the Czech Republic. He has been organizing and leading tours along long-distance cycle routes in the Czech Republic and neighboring countries for 20 years. He also works as a self-employed cycling guide in his hometown of Prague.

+

Travel with impact for change

3. Trust and responsibility

Traveling requires trust. Especially with the tour operator, because your trip should offer unforgettable experiences. If you say after the trip that the best decision was to book the trip with the Trail Angels, then we’ve won.

In times of increasing sensitivity about how we treat nature and society, it is also necessary to have confidence that your trip meets the highest possible standards in this respect too.

  1. Feedback from Guests
    That’s what the guests think

As a project partner and responsible tour operator for the Iron Curtain Trail Explorer Tour Czech Republic/Slovakia/Austria, the Trail Angels are proud to be rated “Excellent” by their guests on the TrustPilot® rating platform. For them, this is confirmation that they are on the right path – and at the same time motivation not to let up an inch, but to become even better. Because positive feedback from you is the greatest joy!

Proven sustainable
Promotion of local structures

Aside from hiking, cycling is the most environmentally friendly form of transport. Aware that cycling is an absolute future model for sustainable tourism, one of the declared goals of the “Iron Curtain Trail Initiative” is to make trips on the Curtain Trail as climate-friendly and nature- and socially compatible as possible in the future. This Explorer Tour was developed as part of this initiative and is a development step in this direction.

This means that CO₂-intensive luggage transport is avoided and the train journey is encouraged, among other things, through an adapted route. Small family-run structures are also preferred – where possible – and national parks along the route are visited. This is just the beginning – as part of the Iron Curtain Trail Initiative, there are some ideas that the results of this Explorer Tour will also help to implement.
+

Climate-friendly
A contribution to the future of travel

A declared goal of the Iron Curtain Trail Initiative is to make travel on the EuroVelo 13 – Iron Curtain Trail more climate-friendly and generally more sustainable. So it’s a good thing that the Trail Angels, as project partners and responsible tour operators for the Iron Curtain Trail Explorer Tour Czech Republic/Slovakia/Austria, have made sustainability and the development of “green” tourism a priority.

  • The Trail Angels are one of a few Austrian tourism companies Travellife® Certified – the world’s leading sustainability certificate for the travel industry
  • As consultants and partners, you are repeatedly involved in large development projects (e.g. GIZ or ADA) that aim to ensure the sustainable and sensitive development of disadvantaged regions
  • With their “Impact Trekking” program they support ecological, social and cultural projects in their trekking destinations
  • Their transparent management model preferably integrates small, family-run service partners along our trails
  • And last but not least, they are currently working on a solution model for climate-neutral travel in an innovation project.
+

FOLLOW US

Radwandernd den Eisernen Vorhang erleben

Iron Curtain Trail

Iron Curtain – der Eiserne Vorhang. Eine Barriere, die jahrzehntelang ganz Europa von Nord bis Süd in zwei Teile teilte. Einen Austausch zwischen Ländern und Menschen behinderte. Zum Glück sind diese Zeiten vorbei und wir alle leben in einem gemeinsamen Europa, in dem wir uns frei bewegen können. Was geblieben ist, sind Relikte, die uns unsere gemeinsame Geschichte sinnbildlich vor Augen führen. Verständlich machen was einmal war und uns erinnern, wie schön es ist, sich frei bewegen zu können. Was liegt da näher, als entlang dieses Vorhangs einen tausende kilometerlangen Radwanderweg zu etablieren – den EuroVelo13 – „Iron Curtain Trail“? Sozusagen als Symbol der wiedergewonnenen Freiheit?

Angebot

EuroVelo 13 – Iron Curtain Trail, Tschechien/Slowakei/Österreich
Geführte Radwanderung entlang des Eisernen Vorhangs bis Bratislava

Dauer: 8 Tage
Termin: 08. – 15.06.2024
Preis: € 538,-

 

Kurzinfo

Charakter: Geführte Radwanderung entlang des Eisernen Vorhangs bis Bratislava

Land: Tschechien, Österreich & Slowakei

Anspruch: ●●○○

Beitrag: Weiterentwicklung des EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trails als Symbol für die Freiheit in Europa

Inklusiv-Leistungen: u. a. Führung durch deutschsprachigen Guide, Übernachtung in Hotels oder Pensionen mit Halbpension, tägl. Zusatzprogramme

Reiseveranstalter: Trail Angels GmbH; Obervellach 15, 9821 Obervellach;

Eintragungs-Nr. Veranstaltungsverzeichnis BMWFI: 2016/0005

 

Radwandernd den Eisernen Vorhang erleben

1. Die Reise

Charakter der Reise

Der Iron Curtain Trail hat allerdings bei Weitem nicht nur symbolischen Charakter, sondern führt auch durch wunderschöne Landschaften. Landschaften, die aufgrund der jahrzehntelangen Nähe zum Eisernen Vorhang extrem naturbelassen waren und deshalb heute Heimat vieler Biosphärenparks, Naturparks und Nationalparks – wie z.B. dem Nationalpark Thayatal entlang der Thaya zwischen Tschechien und Österreich – ist.

©  Weinviertel Tourismus
Die Iron Curtain Trail Explorer Tour 2024 bietet unbeschwertes Radwandern entlang des ehemaligen Eisernen Vorhangs der österreichisch-tschechisch-slowakischen Grenze.

Der Nationalpark Thayatal ist auch eines der Highlights, die Du auf unserer achttägigen Explorer Tour vom 8. bis zum 15. Juni 2024 erleben kannst. Wir haben uns nämlich genau den Bereich aus dem tausende kilometerlangen EuroVelo 13 – Iron Curtain Trail herausgesucht, der auch Heimat dieses Nationalparks ist. Du bewältigst 6 Etappen des EuroVelo 13 – Iron Curtain Trails von Slavonice in der Nähe von Gmünd über Drosendorf Stadt, Znojmo und Valtice bis nach Bratislava, also immer entlang der tschechisch-österreichischen bzw. slowakisch-österreichischen Grenze. Die Etappen sind dabei 45 bis 70 km lang, wobei an 5 der 6 Etappen noch ein Zusatzprogramm geboten wird. Von einer Schlossbesichtigung über eine geführte Runde durch den Nationalpark Thayatal bis zu einer Begleitung durch einen „Iron-Curtain“-Experten ist alles dabei. Du fährst aber auch durch Weingärten diesseits und jenseits an tschechisch-österreichischen Grenze, an Windmühlen vorbei und an alten Städten wie Znojmo, kannst in Kellergassen einkehren und feierst am letzten Abend in Bratislava – der Hauptstadt der Slowakei. Kurzum: ein extrem abwechslungsreiches Programm wartet auf Dich! 

© Waldviertel Tourismus
Dabei erlebst Du Highlights in Hülle und Fülle – sowohl landschaftliche Schmuckstücke wie hier im Nationalpark Thayatal…

Der EuroVelo 13 – Iron Curtain Trail (eine Kulturroute des Europäischen Rats) wird von der ECF, der European Cyclists‘ Federation, gemanagt. Diese ist es auch, die Teil einer europäischen Initiative ist, die zusammen mit vielen Experten den EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail weiterentwickeln soll. Diese Explorer Tour ist Teil der Initiative, um den EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail als geführte Radreise zu testen. Geführt wird diese Radreise von einem der erfahrensten Guides, wenn es um den EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail geht: Daniel Mourek. Er spricht fließend tschechisch, deutsch und englisch und ist auch einer der Experten der Initiative rund um den EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail. Dazu werden bei den Zusatzprogrammen immer wieder externe Guides hinzugeholt, um Dir ein Maximum an interessanten Geschichten bieten zu können.

©  Tourist Info Znojmo
…als auch kulturelle/historische Besonderheiten wie die Altstadt von Znojmo.

Die Initiative wird über ein transnationales Projekt abgewickelt, das vom Interreg Central Europe Programm co-finanziert wird – unter anderem um nachhaltige Reisen am Iron Curtain Trail zu entwickeln. In einem ersten Schritt soll die Bahnanreise forciert werden, weshalb wegen der guten Bahnanbindung auf einen gemeinsamen Rücktransport verzichtet wird – genauso wie auf einen Gepäcktransport, denn bei Radreisen ohne große Höhenunterschiede ist das eigentlich ein verzichtbarer Luxus. Denn die unzähligen schönen Erlebnisse, die Du auf dieser Radreise haben wirst, wiegen nichts, sondern beflügelt sogar beim Radfahren!

DER REISEABLAUF

Tag 01 | 08.06.2024 |
Anreise: Selbstständige Anreise nach Slavonice (CZ; Treffpunkt um 17 Uhr in der Pension Bejčkův Mlýn – das Buchungscenter hilft bei der Planung der Anreise)

Tag 02 | 09.06.2024 |
ICT Etappe Slavonice – Vranov nad Dyjí; geführte Tour Renaissance Schloss Uherčice; Unterkunft: Pension (CZ)
Gesamtzeit: 7 h → 72 km ↗ 640 Hm ↘ 795 Hme

Tag 03 | 10.06.2024 |
ICT Etappe Vranov nad Dyjí – Znojmo; geführte Radtour Nationalparks Podyjí/Thayatal; Unterkunft: Pension (CZ)
Gesamtzeit: 7 h → 55 km ↗ 494 Hm ↘ 537 Hm

Tag 04 | 11.06.2024 |
ICT Etappe Znojmo – Laa an der Thaya/Hevlín; geführte Tour Windmühle Retz; Unterkunft: Pension (CZ)
Gesamtzeit: 7 h → 68 km ↗ 399 Hm ↘ 494 Hm

Tag 05 | 12.06.2024 |
ICT Etappe Laa an der Thaya/Hevlín – Valtice; geführte Tour Lu Tiree Kräutergarten Valtice; Unterkunft: Hotel (CZ)
Gesamtzeit: 6 h → 45 km ↗ 315 Hm ↘ 313 Hm

Tag 06 | 13.06.2024 |
ICT Etappe Valtice – Malacky; Unterkunft: Pension (SK)
Gesamtzeit: 5 h → 57 km ↗ 399 Hm ↘ 494 Hm

Tag 07 | 14.06.2024 |
ICT Etappe Malacky – Bratislava; geführte Tour mit einem Iron-Curtain-Trail-Experten; Unterkunft: Hotel (SK)
Gesamtzeit: 6 h → 67 km ↗ 83 Hm ↘ 91 Hm

Tag 08 | 15.06.2024 |
Individuelle Abreise nach dem Frühstück
Optional wird gegen Aufpreis gerne eine Stadtführung organisiert

INKLUDIERTE LEISTUNGEN

  • 7 Übernachtungen in ausgewählten Mittelklassehotels (*** nationale Kategorisierung) oder authentischen familiengeführten Pensionen; Doppelzimmer mit Halbpension
  • Führung durch erfahrenen lokalen deutschsprachigen Guide mit großen Kenntnissen über Geschichte und Kultur der Länder (zugleich Experte für die Iron-Curtain-Trail-Initiative)
  • Zusatzprogramm an 5 der 6 Etappen (siehe „Reiseverlauf“); Guides dieser Zusatzprogramme teilweise englischsprachig
  • Beitrag für die Weiterentwicklung des Iron Curtain Trails als Symbol für die Freiheit in Europa
  • Detaillierte Tourunterlagen
  • Vor der Reise: Info-Service durch Iron Curtain Trail Experten

Preis: € 538,- p. P.

Min./max. Gruppengröße: 6-10 Personen

Unsere Experten am Iron Curtain Trail

2. Die Pioniere

Lerne unsere Pioniere am Iron Curtain Trail kennen, die Dich auf Deiner Explorer Tour am Iron Curtain Trail begleiten bzw. an der Entwicklung dieser Explorer Tour im Speziellen und des EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trails im Allgemeinen beteiligt sind:

Iron Curtain Trail Initiative
Weiterentwickler des Iron Curtain Trails

Der EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail ist in Summe fast 10.000 Kilometer lang und führt durch 20 Länder. Der Radweg wird unter der Ägide der European Cyclists‘ Federation (ECF) betreut und ist im Netzwerk der Eurovelo-Radwege

verankert. Dass es jedoch großer Anstrengungen bedarf, eine solche Strecke und so viele verschiedene involvierte Akteure zu koordinieren, liegt auf der Hand. Deshalb wurde 2023 eine neue Initiative gestartet, um den EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail und die Regionen um den Radweg weiterzuentwickeln und speziell für Radfahrer attraktiver zu machen. Denn das ist es ja schlussendlich worauf es ankommt: dass Radfahrer wie Du eine gute Zeit am EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail verbringen können. Ein spezieller Fokus wird dabei auch daraufgelegt, eine Reise am EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail klimafreundlicher zu gestalten – denn das ist es ja, was Radfahren per se schon ist.
+

EuroVelo
European Cycle Route Network

EuroVelo ist ein Netz von 17 Radfernwegen, die Europa durchqueren und verbinden. Der Name EuroVelo bürgt dabei für Qualität: EuroVelo ist eine eingetragene Marke des Europäischen Radfahrverbands (ECF),

und nur vom ECF genehmigte Routen dürfen als EuroVelo-Routen bezeichnet werden. Dies ist ein wichtiges Zeichen für Qualität, sowohl für die Radfahrenden als auch für die Streckenbetreiber. Das Gute daran: Der Iron Curtain Trail ist einer der 17 EuroVelo-Radfernwege und wird auch als EuroVelo 13 bezeichnet (hier geht es zur EuroVelo Website):

Die Hauptziele von EuroVelo sind:

  • Die Schaffung von qualitativ sehr hochwertigen Radrouten in allen Ländern Europas! Die Staaten sollen dabei voneinander lernen und Standards vereinheitlichen.
  • Die Verbreitung von Informationen zur Existenz dieser Routen an Entscheidungsträger*innen und potenzielle Nutzer*innen. EuroVelo macht die Strecken bekannt, trägt zu ihrer Vermarktung bei und bietet eine wichtige Anlaufstelle für Informationen über das Radfahren in Europa.
  • Auf diese Weise soll eine große Zahl von europäischen Bürger*innen ermutigt werden, mehr Rad zu fahren und so auf gesundes und nachhaltiges Reisen umzusteigen, sowohl für Tagesausflüge als auch zum Zwecke des Radtourismus.

Die große Erfahrung von EuroVelo in internationalen Projekten ist zusammen mit der Breite des Netzwerks ein Garant dafür, dass ein so ambitioniertes Ziel wie der EuroVelo13 – Iron Curtain Trail in die richtige Richtung entwickelt wird und eine große Zukunft vor sich hat.

+

Ján Roháč
Iron Curtain Trail Experte (SK)

Ján Roháč, 59, ist seit fast 25 Jahren aktiv im Radtourismus tätig. Er war als Radwanderführer und Reiseveranstalter in Mitteleuropa tätig und ist nun Projektmanager mit Schwerpunkt auf Radverkehrsinfrastruktur. 

Darüber hinaus arbeitet er als Berater für öffentliche Verwaltungen und private Unternehmen und setzt sich für den Fahrradtourismus und -verkehr ein. Ján engagiert sich für die Überwachung und Betreuung von Radtouristen und ist außerdem Leiter des Zertifizierungsprogramms Cyclist Welcome in der Slowakei. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat er sich dem Projekt EuroVelo 13 Iron Curtain Trail gewidmet und damit sein Engagement für die Entwicklung und Förderung von Radwegen und -erlebnissen unter Beweis gestellt.

+

Daniel Mourek
Guide und Iron Curtain Trail Experte (CZ)

Daniel (57) verfügt über mehr als 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Entwicklung nachhaltiger Tourismusprojekte, hauptsächlich in den Bereichen Radtourismus, sanfte Mobilität und ökologische Dienstleistungen 

im Tourismus in Mittel- und Osteuropa. Er ist ehemaliger Vizepräsident der European Cyclist’s Federation ECF und Mitglied des EuroVelo-Rates sowie Mitglied des Lenkungsausschusses der European Greenways Association. Daniel war auch Koordinator des tschechischen Teils des Elberadweges und EuroVelo-Koordinator für Tschechien. Seit 20 Jahren organisiert und leitet er Touren entlang der Radfernwege in Tschechien und in den Nachbarländern. Er arbeitet auch als selbständiger Radwanderführer in seiner Heimatstadt Prag.

+

Reisen mit Wirkung für Wandel 

3. Vertrauen und Verantwortung

Reisen braucht Vertrauen. Vor allem in den Reiseveranstalter, denn Deine Reise soll ja unvergessliche Erlebnisse bieten. Wenn Du nach der Reise sagst, die beste Entscheidung war es, bei den Trail Angels die Reise zu buchen, dann haben wir gewonnen.

In Zeiten der steigenden Sensibilität über den Umgang mit Natur und Gesellschaft ist es aber auch nötig Vertrauen zu haben, dass Deine Reise auch in dieser Hinsicht höchstmöglichen Standards genügt.

  1. Feedback von Gästen
    „Hervorragend“ bewertet

Als Projektpartner und verantwortlicher Reiseveranstalter bei der Iron Curtain Trail Explorer Tour Tschechien/Slowakei/Österreich sind die Trail Angels stolz darauf, von ihren Gästen auf der Bewertungsplattform TrustPilot® mit „Hervorragend“ bewertet zu sein. Für sie eine Bestätigung, auf dem richtigen Weg zu sein – und zugleich Motivation, keinen Millimeter nachzulassen, sondern noch besser zu werden. Denn ein positives Feedback von Dir ist die größte Freude!

Erwiesen nachhaltig
Förderung der lokalen Strukturen

Radfahren ist neben Wandern die umweltfreundlichste Fortbewegung überhaupt. In dem Bewusstsein, dass Radfahren ein absolutes Zukunftsmodell für verträglichen Tourismus ist, ist es eines der erklärten Ziele der „Iron Curtain Trail Initiative“, die Reisen am Curtain Trail in Zukunft möglichst klimafreundlich bzw. natur- und gesellschaftsverträglich zu gestalten. Diese Explorer Tour wurde im Rahmen dieser Initiative entwickelt und ist ein Entwicklungsschritt in diese Richtung.So wird auf einen CO₂-intensiven Gepäcktransport verzichtet und die Bahnanreise unter anderem durch eine angepasste Routenführung forciert.

 Es werden auch kleine familiengeführte Strukturen – wo möglich – bevorzugt und an der Strecke liegende Nationalparks besucht. Dies ist erst der Beginn – im Rahmen der Iron Curtain Trail Initiative gibt es einige Ideen, bei deren Umsetzung auch die Ergebnisse dieser Explorer Tour helfen.
+

Klimafreundlich
Ein Beitrag zur Zukunft des Reisens

Ein erklärtes Ziel der Iron Curtain Trail Initiative ist es, Reisen am Iron Curtain Trail klimafreundlicher und generell nachhaltiger zu gestalten. Da trifft es sich gut, dass die Trail Angels als Projektpartner und verantwortlicher Reiseveranstalter bei der Iron Curtain Trail Explorer Tour Tschechien/Slowakei/Österreich Nachhaltigkeit und die Entwicklung eines „grünen“ Tourismus groß auf ihre Fahnen geschrieben haben.

  • Die Trail Angels sind eines von wenigenösterreichischen Tourismusunternehmen Travellife® Certified – das weltweit führende Nachhaltigkeitszertifikat für die Reisebranche
  • Sie sind als Berater und Partner immer wieder in große Entwicklungsprojekte (z.B. der GIZ oder der ADA) involviert, die die nachhaltige und sensible Entwicklung benachteiligter Regionen zur Aufgabe haben
  • Mit ihrem „Impact Trekking“ Programm unterstützen sie ökologische, soziale und kulturelle Projekte in ihren Trekkingdestinationen
  • Ihr transparentes Bewirtschaftungsmodell integriert bevorzugt kleine familiengeführte Servicepartner entlang unserer Trails
  • Und zu guter Letzt arbeiten sie aktuell in einem Innovationsprojekt an einem Lösungsmodell für das klimaneutrale Reisen.
+

FOLLOW US